The version history thus enables you to detect changes made to a document. You are also able to see who made those changes and when they were made. This feature enhances collaboration and gives you a more transparent and trustful negotiation environment. Last but not least: you will be able to access old versions of a document to secure backups and recover removed paragraphs or data that you deleted by mistake.
So let us take a closer look at how it actually works.
When opening a draft, you find the version history to the right of the text in the side menu. It is represented by a clock icon. Just click the clock icon to open the document history menu.
Here you can control the visibility of the version history. By default, only the document owner can see the document’s version history and control its visibility. This means that if you are the owner of a document, you will be able to decide whether other collaborators of the document can detect changes and see older versions of it. Just click Show the version history to others to make it visible to other collaborators of the document.
Be aware that the version history may contain personal data that should not be shared with others. Also, please notice that other collaborators of the document will be able to see that the version history is not visible to them.
The version history is structured chronologically so that you can go through the list of different versions one by one. When you save a draft, a new version is created in the version history. You can browse through different versions to see how the draft evolved.
When you have chosen a version, removed parts of the content will be displayed in red, while new elements are shown in green, so it is clear what content is part of the latest version of the draft. You can see how it looks in the image below.
Now, you should be ready to start working with the version history, but please feel free to reach out if you have any questions.