Help Centre
Shared folders

Shared folders

New
Tarek Slimani
Written by
Tarek Slimani
Updated
June 9, 2020

This article will teach you how to share a folder and collaborate on your important documents.

Shared folders enable you to share specific documents with specific people. With this feature, you can easily manage and control who has access to what documents.

Table of contents:

  1. How to create a shared folder
  2. Add documents to a shared folder
  3. Sharing a folder
  4. Remove documents from a shared folder
  5. Removing access to a shared folder
  6. Good to know

1. How to create a shared folder

Before being able to place documents in a folder and sharing it, you need to create the shared folder.

Step 1: Go to the Documents tab

Head over to the documents tab and locate the blue icon named Shared folders in the left-hand bar. 

Step 2: Create a new shared folder

You will by default have a shared folder marked by a blue icon. 

  1. Click on the three dots to the right of the folder and click New subfolder.
  2. Name the folder and press enter. You have now created a new shared folder.

In the example below, you can see two shared folders that we created named HR and Sales.


2️. Add documents to a shared folder

Now that you have created your first shared folder, you can add documents to it.

If you want to add a single document you can do it this way:

  1. Find the document you want to add to a shared folder and click on the three dots to the right of it. Choose Add to shared folder. You will now be presented with a pop-up here you can choose what shared folder you want to add the document to. The document will not disappear from your private folder when you add it to a shared folder.
  2. Choose the folder you want to add your document to and click Confirm.


You can add up to 25 documents at a time this way:

  1. Check off all the documents you want to move to the left of the document's name.
  1. Choose Add to... to add the documents to a shared folder.
  2. You will now be presented with the same pop up as before.

3️. Sharing a folder

Once your shared folder has been created and documents have been added to it, the next step is to share it.

Step 1: Open the shared folder and click Share folder

When you have opened your shared folder, you will see a big blue button on the upper right-hand corner called Share folder.

When you click on the Share folder button you will be presented with a pop-up where you can choose who to share the folder with. 

Step 2: Share folder

When you click Share folder a pop-up will appear where you can choose who you want to share the folder with.

  • Choose team and members: You can choose a specific team and a specific member of the team that you want to share your folder with. 
  • Invite by email address: If you want to share the folder with someone who is not part of a team you are in, you can share the folder with them by inviting them through an email.
  • Add a message: The last option before sharing a folder is to add a message. You can give some context as to why you are sharing the folder or what you would like people to add to it. When done simply click Share folder.


4. Remove documents from a shared folder

If you added a document to a shared folder by mistake or simply want to remoe a document from a shared folder, you can easily remove it again.

Step 1: Choose Remove from shared folder.

Step 2: Click the "X" on the folders you want to remove the document from.

5. Removing access to a shared folder

You can easily remove access to a shared folder.

1. Click on the Shared with icons or the Share folder button. This will open the same pop-up as you see when sharing a folder.

2. To remove access for a person, click on the "X" next to their name or email address.

3. Click Remove.

6️. Good to know

Owning a document

As the owner of a document, you can always remove/unshare the document from any folder it has been added to.

Moving documents vs. adding documents

On Contractbook, we differentiate between moving and adding documents to folders.

  • Moving: You can move a document between your private folders.
  • Adding: You can add a document to a shared folder.

When adding a document to a shared folder, the document will still appear in its original location within your private folder system. As such, adding a document to a shared folder does not move it but duplicates it.

Get Started
Product Tour
Templates
Library
Pricing
Customers
Get Started
How it works